Delete / Deactivate Twitter Account on Android, iOS & Web

Delete/ Deactivate Twitter Account: Being active on social media has its benefits.  For instance, it can help you keep in touch with friends’ who are scattered worldwide.  You can also share your best memories, videos, photos, thoughts with others in an instant even though they may be located at the other end of the world.  

However, sometimes being active on social media can have some disadvantages as well.  It is like being in the spotlight all the time.  So whatever small action or photo can trigger off a negative response.  It is like all the personal details are published in the newspapers.  Some might take it positively whereas it may impact others negatively. So, while some enjoy being in the limelight others might not enjoy it so much.  So, if you, being an active Twitter user do feel that you need to take a break from social media such as Twitter, then you can do so immediately.

Deletion and deactivation of Twitter accounts are two different things.   Please note that if you just want to change your username or email address, then there is no need to delete or deactivate your current Twitter account.

Delete / Deactivate Twitter Account on Android, iOS & Web

Delete Twitter

Delete Twitter

For Android users: 

From the navigation menu icon or the profile icon, go to Settings and privacy.  From there go to Account and then select the option ‘Deactivate your account’ which is right at the bottom.   Some important information regarding the deactivation of the account will be shown on the screen.   Read them carefully and after that select the ‘Deactivate’ option.  Here you will be prompted to enter the password and again tap on the ‘Deactivate’ button.  For confirmation purposes, you may need to again tap on the ‘Deactivate’ button.

Check out: Rocket Mail Signup & Login Guide

A point to be noted is that after deactivation, your Twitter account will not be viewable on the website of Twitter.  Also, you have the option of 30 days within which you can restore your deactivated account.

For Apple users:

From the top menu, go to the profile icon and then tap on the ‘Settings and Privacy’ button.  From there go to ‘Account’ and select the ‘Deactivate your account’ option.   Important information relating to the deactivation of your account will be shown on the screen.  After reading it, tap on the ‘Deactivate’ button again. Enter the password and press the ‘Deactivate’ button again. Lastly, for confirmation, again press on the ‘Yes, deactivate’ option to complete the deactivation process.

DELETION OF YOUR TWITTER ACCOUNT

Sometimes if your Twitter account has been hacked then it is better to delete your Twitter account.  So, if you notice any signs of missing tweets, or there are some suspicious messages in your Twitter account then it is better to delete instead of simply deactivating your Twitter account.  The steps are:

From the mobile App:

First and foremost, log into your Twitter account.  Then go to your Profile and select the option ‘Settings and Privacy’ from the menu. After that select, the Account and click on the ‘Deactivate your account’.  There will be some sort of warning message.  Read the information carefully and then select the ‘Deactivate’ button again.  At this stage, you will be asked to enter your password and again select the ‘Deactivate’ button for confirmation.  That is all.  After about 30 days waiting period, Twitter will delete your account permanently.  This process might take about a week.

From Web browser

The process is very much similar to deleting from the Mobile App.  You need to first log in to your Twitter account.   Here, click on the three-dot menu icon which is shown on the left sidebar.  Then select the option ‘Settings and privacy’.  From here, select the option ‘Deactivate your Account’.  You will be prompted to read some important information regarding what your deactivation entails. After that, click on ‘Deactivate’ again. Enter your password and click on the ‘Deactivate’ button for the final time.

END NOTE:

An important thing before you deactivate or delete your account is to save all your important and required data beforehand.  So, it is best to discuss the steps by mailsguide on how to download and save your twitter data on this same page.   For this too, you need to go to the ‘Settings & Privacy’ option.  This time go to ‘Data & Permissions’.  From here, select the option ‘Your Twitter data’.  Enter your password for confirmation and then click on the ‘Request Archive’ button.   Once the data from the archive is ready, you will get either a notification or an email with a link. Click on the ‘Your Twitter data’ or on the ‘Download Archive’ button for downloading and saving.   

If you simply want to delete the tweets, then the best thing is to go to the individual tweets one by one and delete them.  This may take time.  However, if you want to delete all of it in one shot, then there are some third-party apps such as TweetDelete or TweetEraser.

Please remember that some profiles or tweets will still be shown in some search engines or internet archives.   But not to worry. Because when you click on the link it will show up as an error page.

Leave a Reply